Community Foundation awards $241,800 in scholarships to local students – OBX Today

Community Foundation awards $241,800 in scholarships to local students - OBX Today
(Outer Banks Community Foundation)

The Outer Banks Community Foundation awarded $241,800 in scholarships this year to help Outer Banks students achieve their educational dreams.

Thirty-four graduating seniors from Cape Hatteras Secondary School, First Flight High School, Manteo High School, Ocracoke School, and the N.C. School of Science and Math have been awarded $119,500 in scholarships for the 2024-2025 academic year. Notably, 19 of these students received renewable awards that could follow them through four years of college.

“This was a record-breaking year for us all around with an increasing number of applications and awards,” said Outer Banks Community Foundation Scholarship Chair and Director Robin Mann. “It was very encouraging working alongside our dedicated staff to assure students were receiving the needed assistance throughout the application process.  Our committees enjoy getting to know each and every applying student through their application and interviews.  It is such a heartwarming and enjoyable experience attending the award ceremonies and participating in the delivery of scholarships.  It has been such an honor representing the Outer Banks Community Foundation and all of our donors this season!”

In addition to these awards, the Community Foundation has granted financial support totaling $122,300 to 40 current college students with multi-year scholarships and three College of the Albemarle Dare Guarantee graduates who are pursuing four-year degrees.

The Community Foundation’s most prestigious and significant grants, accounted for $106,000 in new and renewable scholarship awards this year. Seven of these enchanced scholarship awards were given to newly selected graduating seniors;

Two Elizabeth and Wayne Evans Scholarships, each a four-year, $20,000 renewable award, have been granted to Alayna Jester, a graduating senior from First Flight High School, and Benjamin Hanusik, a graduating senior from Manteo High School. Both recipients will be pursuing nursing degrees at East Carolina University and the University of North Carolina Wilmington, respectively.

The Greg and Eden Honeycutt Scholarship, a four-year, $40,000 renewable award, has been presented to Mariah Temple, a graduating senior from Ocracoke School. Mariah will attend the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she plans to double major in Media & Journalism and English & Comparative Literature, concentrating in either Social Justice & Literature or Creative Writing. Additionally, she expressed an interest in pursuing a minor in Global Engagement.

The Jerry and Arlene Davis Scholarship, another four-year, $24,000 renewable scholarship, went to Samantha Vargas-Aparicio, a First Flight High School graduating senior. Samantha will attend University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in the fall and plans to major in Biology and minor in public health or public health management.

The Josephine A. Oden Scholarship, a four-year, $20,000 renewable scholarship, was awarded to Sherlyn Mendieta-Lozano, a Cape Hatteras Secondary School graduating senior. Sherlyn plans to study international business at UNC Charlotte. She told us “I plan on majoring in International Business. I decided that this was going to be my major because of the influence DECA has had on me in the past three years that I have been a part of the club. And, International Business will also allow me to travel, which I have always wanted to do.”

The Milton A. Jewell Academic Scholarship, a four-year, $24,000 renewable scholarship, was awarded to Catherine Tyre, a Manteo High School graduating senior. Catherine will attend Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University this fall, where she intends to major in Civil/Environmental Engineering and pursue a minor in music.

The inaugural Smith-Cooper Scholarship, a four-year, $20,000 renewable award, has been granted to Zane Hughes, a graduating senior from First Flight High School and a first-generation college student. Zane plans to pursue a degree in engineering or another science/math-related field at UNC Charlotte.

The R. Stewart Couch Hatteras Island Scholarship, a one-time, $8,000 award, went to Austin Jones of Cape Hatteras Secondary School. Austin plans to major in Exercise and Sports Science, at William Peace University. He told us “During my undergraduate studies, I plan to major in Exercise and Sports Science. This career pathway will provide me with the opportunity to work in the athletic training and coaching field. My main goal is to use my degree to become a physical therapist, with hopes of opening my own business.”

For a full list of scholarship recipients, please visit

The Community Foundation manages 70 scholarship programs; more awards will be announced through our Partners scholarship program in the coming months. Scholarship funds have been generously donated over the years by individuals, families, businesses, nonprofits, civic groups, and government agencies to help local students pursue higher education. Any community member can establish a scholarship fund with the Community Foundation by calling 252-423-3003, or can donate to an existing fund online at